Germany veteran Klose sets sights on final after breaking World Cup scoring record.

Wednesday, July 09, 2014 – Miroslav Klose has set his sights on helping Germany win the 2014 FIFA World Cup, refusing to dwell on his record-breaking achievement.

The 36-year old is now the all-time leading World Cup scorer after netting for Germany against Brazil in Tuesday’s semi-final in Belo Horizonte.

Klose put his country 2-0 up in the 23rd minute with his 16th World Cup goal in his fourth tournament, surpassing the 15 goals scored by Brazil great, Ronaldo, who has held the previous record since 2006.

With 71 goals in 136 matches, the Lazio striker is also the top all-time Germany goal scorer, moving ahead of previous record holder Gerd Mueller.

Although, Klose dedicated the achievement to his family, he is already looking forward to the final on Sunday where they will face either Argentina or Netherlands.

Speaking to Sky Italia, Klose said: “To whom I dedicate my goal? For my children, my family.

“I’m happy for this record, for having exceeded Ronaldo, but for me it is increasingly important to the team.

“Now we want to win the final. Holland or Argentina? I have no preference. They’re good.”

The Kenyan DAILY POST.

From DAILY POST http://bit.ly/1qUrPZT | ULTA | Dominos | Michaels | JoAnn

Leave a comment